//Brindley Rules Rye House//

2016 Maxxis UK National Flat Track Championships Round One
April 10, Rye House Speedway, Hoddesdon

Round one of the 2016 Maxxis UK National Flat Track Championships put on by the DTRA (Dirt Track Riders Association) series held at Rye House Speedway kicked off the season in style. With the largest numbers of entrants to date, sunny dry weather and an amazing day of racing it produced a spectacular opening event.

The Pro Class A final saw old rivals Oliver Brindley, Aidan Collins and Alan Birtwistle line up next to each other on the front row. Collins, who won the DTRA series in 2015, got an amazing start as he led into turn one with Brindley and Birtwistle hot on his tail. Brindley was fighting hard to pass the more experienced Collins. It wasn’t long before the youngster made his move to take the lead. Brindley then rode with speed and style as he pulled away lapping several back markers before taking a dominating win. Collins rode well for second with Birtwistle third.

The Pro Class B final saw Les Wood get the holeshot. He was closely followed by a group that included Ross Herrod, Jamie Courtney and Tom Clemens. Wood continued to lead with Courtney second and Herrod third. Unfortunately, Wood crashed ending his lead and ultimately his race. This opened the door as Herrod moved into the lead with Justin Heavens and Courtney chasing hard. Herrod held strong for the win with Courtney second and Heavens third.

In the Restricted Class Matthew Moore, Rob Kingerly and Jon Bell were all scrapping it out into turn one. By the end of the first lap Kingerly held the lead with Sean Kelly moving through into second and Moore in third. Christoph Decombard charged from behind to move into third. It wasn’t long before 2015 season champion Kelly took the lead and pulled away for the win. Behind, Mike Hill pushed hard on the last lap to move into second leaving Decombard to settle for third.

The Vintage Class promised to be special as Frank Chatokhine from France lined up against rival and 2015 champion Guy Sutherland. The Frenchman led into turn one with Sutherland hot on his tail with Peter Jordan third. Chatokhine rode a classy race to take the win with Sutherland second. Behind, Jordan lost out to Paul Harrison as he made the pass to take third.

The Thunderbike final provided hot flat track action as Guy Sutherland, Ross Herrod and Mike Hill blasted into turn one together. By the end of lap one Herrod led the charge with Hill second and Sutherland third. Then Sean Vukovic came charging through passing both Sutherland and Hill moving into second. Vukovic then made the jump on Herrod to move into the lead for the win. Herrod held strong for second with Hill third.

The Rookie Class was bigger than ever with lots of new racers joining the DTRA family for the season. A race restart following an early crash saw Fred Roubaut move into the lead once again with Ross Sharp, Tim Aucott and Louis Breton all chasing hard. Sharp chased hard getting a little loose at times but made the pass to move into the lead and take the win. Roubaut rode well for second with Breton third.

Geoff Cain and Justin Heavens were battling it out all day in the Minibike Class. In the final Heavens got a fast start to move ahead while Cain had to fight his way through into second. By the end of lap one Cain used his speed to pass Heavens as Oliver Henry chased in third. Unfortunately, Henry went down in the latter stages of the race causing Adam Waller to crash into him. The race stopped and places awarded relative to position. This meant Cain took the win with Heavens second and Waller third.

The Youth Senior Class saw Jordan Miller and Sky Adams doing battle all day. Adams won all the heats while Miller took the win in the final. With all points counting it meant Adams took the overall. In the Youth Intermediates Joe Burden dominated the heats and took first in the final for the win. Jack Bell held second all day with Kier Armstrong taking third. Ted Williamson showed lots of potential wining the Youth Junior class.